Our new database page will launch shortly.


Sports Cars

The confrontational relationship then enjoyed between the organisers of the Le Mans 24 Hours and the FIA hit an all-time low in 1992. The new 3500cc F1-based sports car formula had not been a success and the World Championship was cancelled to leave the Automobile Club de l'Ouest in search of a competitive and capacity field.

With resulting new rules for its race, the new American Le Mans Series was followed by the IMSA-sanctioned European Le Mans Series in 2001. That included the Sebring 12 Hours and Road Atlanta's Petit Le Mans as well as five additional races in Europe. That proved to be a one-off but the renamed Le Mans Endurance Series was reintroduced in 2004. It ran for eight seasons (under the Le Mans Series moniker from 2006) with Henri Pescarolo's privateers emerging as champions on three occasions.

Its success prompted the FIA to organise a World Championship for sports cars once more from 2012. With the LMS elevated in status, a European Le Mans Series was organised to LMP2 rules from that year.