Our new database page will launch shortly.

1929 Non-championship

Other years:
Other 1929 championships:

A classic new race was organised for the first time in 1929 – the Monaco Grand Prix. “W Williams” led a Bugatti 1-2 in that inaugural “Race of a Thousand Corners” to write an indelible page in the history of one of the sport’s most enduring events. This proved to be Bugatti’s year for “Williams” then won the French GP at Le Mans while Louis Chiron was successful in the German (to sports car rules) and Spanish GPs.

There was no Italian GP in 1929 but Achille Varzi won the Monza GP with the venerable Alfa Romeo P2. Only the Spanish and French races were organised to the official GP rules as promotors again shunned the official formula.