Our new database page will launch shortly.

1925 World Championship

World Championship
Other years:
Other 1925 championships:

The first World Championship for manufacturers was organised in 1925 with Alfa Romeo emerging as champions. However, it was a far from happy year for the team. Delage was its closest challenger although they only met face-to-face in the first two of four rounds.

Antonio Ascari led Giuseppe Campari to an Alfa Romeo 1-2 in the inaugural Belgian GP at Spa-Francorchamps after all three Delage 2LCVs had retired. However, Ascari was then killed while leading Campari in the French GP at Montlhéry. With the team in mourning, Alfa Romeo missed the Spanish GP before returning at Monza when Count Gastone Brilli-Peri led Campari home for the new world champions.

The Delage 2LCV was now supercharged and the French marque recovered from its disastrous Belgian GP to inherit a hollow 1-2 victory in France, with Robert Benoist and Albert Divo sharing the winning car. Delage withdrew from the final championship round before Divo won the Spanish GP as the marque filled the top three places on another day that the Alfa Romeo team was absent.

NOTE: Round 1 of the 1925 World Championship was the Indianapolis 500 which is included in the AAA National Championship and Indycars.