Our new database page will launch shortly.


Sports Cars

The BPR Organisation launched a new Grand Touring series in 1994 as an attempt to fill the gap left by the demise of the World Sportscar Championship two years earlier. It was originally a series of non-championship events that attracted an assortment of private Porsches, Venturis, Lotuses, and Ferraris.

The series was awarded full championship status in 1995 and the BMW-powered McLaren F1 dominated those early years. However, the introduction of the Porsche 911 GT1 towards the end of 1997 took the category to a new, more professional level. The AMG Mercedes-Benz team dominated the final two GT1 years (winning every race in 1998) before organisers switched to the GT2 class for 1999.

Lister Storm won the 2000 championship although private Chrysler Viper GTS-Rs proved to be the category's mainstay at the time. Prodrive developed the Ferrari 550 Maranello into a title winner before Vitaphone Racing and Maserati dominated for five consecutive years at the start of the new millennium.

Run to GT1 rules once more, the FIA awarded the series full World Championship status in 2010 but budgets proved prohibitive and it closed after three seasons.